HomeAbout UsCryptologic HeritageHistorical Figures and PublicationsHall of Honor

Cryptologic Hall of Honor

The Cryptologic Hall of Honor was created in 1999 to pay special tribute to the pioneers and heroes who rendered distinguished service to American cryptology.

The standards are high for induction into this great hall. The individuals honored were innovators over their entire careers or made major contributions to the structure and processes of American cryptology. The men and women who have been inducted to the Cryptologic Hall of Honor are all greats in the once silent world of cryptology.

In the early days of America's cryptologic effort, many of the "giants" did both Signals Intelligence and Information Assurance. They made important contributions to both offensive and defensive cryptology. As such, they were among the first inducted into the Cryptologic Hall of Honor. 

Honor - Bio - ArticleCS - Dashboard - DRAFT

Lester K. Myers, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Lester K. Myers
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Lester K. Myers, former NSA Senior Language Analyst, mentor, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. Whitfield Diffie, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. Whitfield Diffie
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. Whitfield Diffie, computer security pioneer and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Barbara A. McNamara, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Barbara A. McNamara
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Barbara A. McNamara, former NSA Executive Assistant to the Director, former NSA representative to the Department of Defense, former Deputy Director NSA, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. David Kahn, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. David Kahn
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. David Kahn, Journalist, Author, former NSA Scholar-in-Residence, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

George R. Cotter 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
George R. Cotter
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About George R. Cotter, former NSA Chief of Staff, NSA Chief Scientist, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Thomas E. Tremain

2006 Hall of Honor Inductee

Mr. Thomas E. Tremain came to NSA in 1961. He received his electrical engineering degree from Johns Hopkins University in 1966.

Mr. Tremain was a pioneer in voice encryption systems. While working at NSA, he had a high record of innovation in theory and applied science. His work became the basis of virtually every digital U.S. modem and speech-coding standard for satellite communications and hand-held digital cellular systems. His algorithms reside in deployed STU-III units to this day.

The Assistant Secretary of Defense for Command, Communications, Control, and Intelligence appointed Mr. Tremain chairman of the U.S. Government Digital Voice Consortium. He led the Consortium for three decades and built it into the premier U.S. Government speech research forum. He went on to establish an independent speech-testing center that the U.S. used to evaluate voice algorithms. This was a milestone in the effort to quantify and measure progress in the U.S. speech research program.

Mr. Tremain's ideas have and will continue to influence speech research, especially in the U.S. for decades. Many of Mr. Tremain's peers considered him one of the most dynamic senior scientists ever assigned to NSA. Mr. Tremain passed away in 1995.