HomeAbout UsCryptologic HeritageHistorical Figures and PublicationsHall of Honor

Cryptologic Hall of Honor

The Cryptologic Hall of Honor was created in 1999 to pay special tribute to the pioneers and heroes who rendered distinguished service to American cryptology.

The standards are high for induction into this great hall. The individuals honored were innovators over their entire careers or made major contributions to the structure and processes of American cryptology. The men and women who have been inducted to the Cryptologic Hall of Honor are all greats in the once silent world of cryptology.

In the early days of America's cryptologic effort, many of the "giants" did both Signals Intelligence and Information Assurance. They made important contributions to both offensive and defensive cryptology. As such, they were among the first inducted into the Cryptologic Hall of Honor. 

Honor - Bio - ArticleCS - Dashboard - DRAFT

Lester K. Myers, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Lester K. Myers
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Lester K. Myers, former NSA Senior Language Analyst, mentor, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. Whitfield Diffie, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. Whitfield Diffie
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. Whitfield Diffie, computer security pioneer and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Barbara A. McNamara, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Barbara A. McNamara
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Barbara A. McNamara, former NSA Executive Assistant to the Director, former NSA representative to the Department of Defense, former Deputy Director NSA, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. David Kahn, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. David Kahn
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. David Kahn, Journalist, Author, former NSA Scholar-in-Residence, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

George R. Cotter 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
George R. Cotter
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About George R. Cotter, former NSA Chief of Staff, NSA Chief Scientist, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Vera Ruth Filby

2013 Hall of Honor Inductee

Vera Ruth Filby served with the Women Accepted for Voluntary Exceptional Service (WAVES) and the Communications Supplementary Activity, the Navy's cryptologic organization, during World War II. Except for six months after her discharge, she served with NSA and its predecessors for the rest of her career.

From 1946-1961, she worked with a team of "troubleshooters" to help clear up backlogged analytic problems. Ms. Filby also worked at the British Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ), where she was in charge of reporting on a special problem.

At NSA in 1959, she studied Russian and Chinese and took the Intensive Study Program in General Cryptanalysis, taught by the renowned Lambros Callimahos.

In 1965, Ms. Filby joined the National Cryptologic School (NCS), where for nearly 30 years she developed and taught courses on SIGINT reporting, mentored instructors, and taught SIGINT overview classes to partner agencies - something almost unheard of until then.

She was the first NSA winner of the CIA's Sherman Kent Award for intelligence literature. In 1970, she was named the first NCS Teacher of the Year, the award now known as the "Vera Filby Teacher of the Year." The Signals Intelligence Directorate honored her by publishing a Q&A newsletter column known as "Virtual Vera."

For over 30 years, SIGINT reporting at NSA has largely borne the stamp of Vera Filby. Hundreds of students who studied with her became analysts and reporters who provided their users the best information in the best possible form and style.

Vera Filby passed away in 2007.