HomeAbout UsCryptologic HeritageHistorical Figures and PublicationsHall of Honor

Cryptologic Hall of Honor

The Cryptologic Hall of Honor was created in 1999 to pay special tribute to the pioneers and heroes who rendered distinguished service to American cryptology.

The standards are high for induction into this great hall. The individuals honored were innovators over their entire careers or made major contributions to the structure and processes of American cryptology. The men and women who have been inducted to the Cryptologic Hall of Honor are all greats in the once silent world of cryptology.

In the early days of America's cryptologic effort, many of the "giants" did both Signals Intelligence and Information Assurance. They made important contributions to both offensive and defensive cryptology. As such, they were among the first inducted into the Cryptologic Hall of Honor. 

Honor - Bio - ArticleCS - Dashboard - DRAFT

Lester K. Myers, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Lester K. Myers
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Lester K. Myers, former NSA Senior Language Analyst, mentor, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. Whitfield Diffie, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. Whitfield Diffie
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. Whitfield Diffie, computer security pioneer and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Barbara A. McNamara, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Barbara A. McNamara
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Barbara A. McNamara, former NSA Executive Assistant to the Director, former NSA representative to the Department of Defense, former Deputy Director NSA, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Dr. David Kahn, 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
Dr. David Kahn
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About Dr. David Kahn, Journalist, Author, former NSA Scholar-in-Residence, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

George R. Cotter 2020 Hall of Honor inductee
George R. Cotter
By | Dec. 15, 2020
About George R. Cotter, former NSA Chief of Staff, NSA Chief Scientist, and 2020 Hall of Honor inductee.

Mary H. "Polly" Budenbach

2017 Hall of Honor Inductee

Women in American Cryptology Honoree

Mary Budenbach, a graduate of Smith College and known to all as "Polly," joined the Navy's cryptologic organization, OP-20-G, in 1943. Trained as a cryptanalyst, she worked against Japanese naval ciphers during World War II. Ms. Budenbach's team was successful in exploiting the machine-generated cipher, known as JADE, used by Japanese naval attachés worldwide. After the war, she worked for the Armed Forces Security Agency and then NSA.

Throughout her career, Ms. Budenbach was recognized as an innovative technical expert in cryptanalysis. She worked with Arthur Levenson and Frank Raven in an early and successful effort to computerize analytic techniques. Widely recognized for her expertise and leadership, Ms. Budenbach was appointed to a number of senior positions within the Production Organization (predecessor of the Signals Intelligence Directorate). In 1975, she became chief of an internal NSA "think tank" that undertook specialized research and developed groundbreaking analytic techniques in several disciplines.

As NSA restructured its promotion and assignment processes to ensure fairness for minorities and women, Ms. Budenbach chaired a select committee that recommended actions to correct problems in these processes for female employees. Her leadership on this issue played a key role in breaking the "glass ceiling" for women at NSA.

For her outstanding service to the nation, Mary H. Budenbach was named Federal Woman of the Year in 1969. She retired from NSA in 1975, and passed away in June 2005.