An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | Dec. 13, 2019

NSA congratulates Centers of Academic Excellence (CAE)

The following academic institutions were recognized as designated or re-designated CAE schools at the November 2019 NICE conference:

  • Air Force Institute of Technology
  • Arapahoe Community College
  • Auburn University
  • Baker College
  • Bluegrass Community and Technical College
  • Brookdale Community College
  • Butler Community College
  • Century College
  • Coastline Community College
  • Columbus State Community College
  • Delta College
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott Campus
  • Estrella Mountain Community College
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Germanna Community College
  • Glendale Community College
  • Grand Canyon University
  • Great Falls College Montana State University
  • Hill College
  • Johnson County Community College
  • Lansing Community College
  • LeMoyne–Owen College
  • Lincoln Land Community College
  • Macomb Community College
  • Madison College
  • McLennan Community College
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Mt. Hood Community College
  • Murray State University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Northern Kentucky University
  • Ohlone College
  • Owensboro Community and Technical College
  • Purdue University Northwest
  • Rock Valley College
  • Sierra College
  • South Carolina State University
  • Southern Maine Community College
  • Southwest Virginia Community College
  • Spokane Falls Community College
  • St. Petersburg College
  • Trident Technical College
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Louisville - Graduate Certificate of Cybersecurity
  • University of Maine at Augusta
  • University of Missouri - Columbia
  • University of New Hampshire
  • University of North Texas
  • University of South Florida
  • Virginia Western Community College
  • Walden University
  • Webster University
  • Westchester Community College
  • Wichita State University

On November 20, 2019, NSA celebrated the designation and re-designation of 58 academic institutions as Centers of Academic Excellence (CAE) at the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) conference in Phoenix, Arizona. The CAE in Cybersecurity Program offers three designations – CAE in Cyber Defense Education, Cyber Defense Research, and Cyber Operations. These programs contribute graduates to the cyber workforce in support of the nation’s industry and government and employers.

"For 20 years, CAE colleges and universities have educated our nation's future cyber first-responders,” said Commandant of NSA's National Cryptologic School (NCS), Diane M. Janosek. “We are so excited to add more colleges and universities to this elite group. CAE academic institutions and their graduates play a vital role to our nation’s cybersecurity.”

According to Janosek, 312 colleges and universities in the United States, roughly 5 percent of the nation’s total, currently hold the CAE designation. All regionally accredited two-year, four-year and graduate level institutions in the U.S. are eligible to apply to become a CAE school.

Co-sponsored by NSA and the Department of Homeland Security, the CAE Cyber Defense program was established in 1999 to meet the growing need for knowledgeable and skilled cybersecurity professionals within the federal government, state and local governments, and industry.

For a current list of NSA/DHS CAE-designated schools, visit To learn more about the CAE program check out this video, and this page