HomeNews & FeaturesPress Room

Press Room

Please submit media requests via our online form and include specific questions and deadlines.

The NSA/CSS Public and Media Affairs Office fosters relationships with media outlets throughout the world responding to requests for information about NSA/CSS and its missions interviews with leadership or experts and filming opportunities.

NSA/CSS Inducts Five Pioneers into The National Cryptologic Museum's Hall of Honor

Release No: PA-154-18 Nov. 6, 2008 PRINT | E-MAIL

Five pioneers of American cryptology were inducted into the NSA/CSS Hall of Honor today at the National Cryptologic Museum. In his keynote remarks during the induction ceremony, Lieutenant General Keith B. Alexander, Director, National Security Agency/Chief, Central Security Service, highlighted the distinguished achievements of each of the inductees:

  • Mr. Benson Buffham - established new offices and procedures that continue to influence NSA/CSS operations.
  • Mr. Charles L. Gandy - made significant contributions to the research, development and deployment of quick reaction capabilities, which led to successes throughout the cryptologic community.
  • Gen Alfred M. Gray - helped create the Marine Cryptologic Support Battalion, earning him the moniker "Cryptologic Warrior."
  • Mr. Oliver R. Kirby - was involved in the Project VENONA and became NSA's first civilian Deputy Director for Production.
  • RADM Donald M. Showers - formed the PURPLE DRAGON program that resulted in greater combat effectiveness and saved American lives in Vietnam.

The Hall of Honor, created in 1999, pays tribute to the pioneers and heroes who have made significant and enduring contributions to American cryptology. For more information on the NSA/CSS Hall of Honor or the National Cryptologic Museum, visit the NSA Homepage at NSA.gov.

The National Cryptologic Museum is located at the intersection of Maryland Route 32 and the Baltimore-Washington Parkway (I-295), adjacent to the headquarters of the National Security Agency. Hours of operation are 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (except Federal holidays), and 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Saturdays of each month. Admission is free.