HomeNews & FeaturesPress Room

Press Room

Please submit media requests via our online form and include specific questions and deadlines.

The NSA/CSS Public and Media Affairs Office fosters relationships with media outlets throughout the world responding to requests for information about NSA/CSS and its missions interviews with leadership or experts and filming opportunities.

NSA/CSS Adds Two New Names to the Cryptologic Memorial Wall

Release No: PA-147-18 May 29, 2009 PRINT | E-MAIL

On 29 May 2009, LTG Keith B. Alexander, USA, Director, National Security Agency/ Chief, Central Security Service, paid special tribute to SGT Nicholas A. Robertson and CTM3 Matthew J. O'Bryant at a Memorial Ceremony. The service was attended by family, friends, and distinguished guests.

SGT Nicholas A. Robertson, USA, a senior voice interceptor assigned to Special Operations Team - Alpha (SOT - A) 3301, made the ultimate sacrifice on 4 April 2008 while performing a cryptologic mission in Afghanistan.

CTM3 Matthew J. O'Bryant, USN, a Navy Cryptologist, was assigned to Navy Information Operations Command (NIOC) Maryland. CTM3 O'Bryant made the ultimate sacrifice on 20 September 2008 while performing a cryptologic mission in Pakistan.

The ceremony included a traditional wreath laying and the unveiling of the names "SGT Nicholas A. Robertson" and "CTM3 Matthew J. O'Bryant" on the NSA/CSS Cryptologic Memorial Wall. The wall, dedicated in 1996, lists the names of 159 Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine, and civilian cryptologists who have made the ultimate sacrifice, "serving in silence," in the performance of their duties since World War II.

Additional information on the Memorial Wall and a special historical monograph highlighting SGT Robertson's and CTM3 O'Bryant's lives, service, and sacrifice can be viewed via the NSA/CSS web site.

NOTE: Media outlets interested in receiving photographs from the ceremony or additional information should contact the NSA Public and Media Affairs Office via phone at (301) 688-6524 or by email at nsapao@nsa.gov.