Fact Sheet

July 12, 2011

These are the National Centers of Academic Excellence (CAEs) in Information Assurance Education (CAE/IAE) for the years 2011 through 2016:

Bowie State University

Columbus State University

Davenport University

Ferris State University

Hampton University

Maryland

Georgia

Michigan

Michigan

Virginia

Howard University Washington, D.C.

Lewis UniversityIllinoisLouisiana Tech UniversityLouisianaMercy CollegeNew YorkSouthern Illinois University, CarbondaleIllinoisUniversity of South AlabamaAlabamaWilmington UniversityDelaware

Additionally, these three academic institutions were newly designated as National Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Research (CAE-Rs) for the years 2011-2016:

Florida Institute of Technology
Rice University
Texas
University of Southern California
California

The National Security Agency and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security are also pleased to announce the completion of the second year of the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance 2-year Education (CAE2Y) Program. These seven community colleges received this designation for the years 2011 through 2016:

College of Southern Maryland
Community College of Baltimore County
Erie Community College
Inver Hills Community College
Owens Community College
Richland College
Whatcom Community College
Washington

Maryland
New York
Minnesota
Ohio
Texas
Whatcom Community College
Washington

There are now a total of 118 colleges and universities designated as CAE/IAE; 50 as CAE-R; and 13 as CAE2Y. Thirty-six institutions are designated as both CAE/IAE and CAE-R. They are located in 40 states, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. There are 145 institutions participating in all of the CAE Programs.